YRC - Scranton-Wilkes Barre News

Scranton/Wilkes-Barre RailRiders News List
RailRiders Headlines

  • RailRiders Claim Triple-A's Top Prize
    Memphis, Tenn. - Chris Parmelee blasted a first-inning homer and four pitchers took it from there as the SWB RailRiders (International League/New York Yankees) defeated the El Paso Chihuahuas (Pacific Coast League/San Diego Padres) for the 2016 Gildan Triple-A National Championship at AutoZone Park on Tuesday night. SWB's first-ever overall Triple-A crown proved the first for the International League since the Columbus Clippers in 2011.

  • RailRiders Claim 2016 Governors' Cup Championship
    The SWB RailRiders (Triple-A/ New York Yankees) earned their first Governors' Cup title since 2008 by shutting out the Gwinnett Braves 3-0 to win the Championship Series 3-1 on Friday night at Coolray Field. The 2016 RailRiders held the G-Braves to just two runs over the final 35.1 innings of the series.

  • Lail Sets Tone in Shutout Win
    Lawrenceville, Ga. - The potent pitching of Brady Lail, Dietrich Enns and J.R. Graham combined on a five-hit shutout as the SWB RailRiders (Triple-A/New York Yankees) blanked the Gwinnett Braves (Atlanta Braves) in a critical Game 3 of the Governors' Cup Championship Series on Thursday night, 3-0. SWB owns a 2-1 series lead and sits one win short of the franchise's second-ever Governors' Cup crown and first since 2008.

  • SWB Scores Walk-Off to Even Championship Series
    Held without a hit for much for the night, it was patience that allowed the SWB RailRiders (Triple-A/ New York Yankees) to even the Governors' Cup Championship Series at 1-1 against the Gwinnett Braves (Atlanta Braves). The RailRiders used four walks and a hit batsmen to walk-off the G-Braves 2-1 and bring the curtain down on the 2016 season at PNC Field.

  • RailRiders' Rally Falls Short Against G-Braves in Game One
    The SWB RailRiders (Triple-A/ New York Yankees) fell down six runs in the first inning and fell short in their comeback bid on Tuesday night at PNC Field. The Gwinnett Braves (Atlanta Braves) held on for a 7-4 win in Game One of the best-of-five Governors' Cup Championship Series.

  • SWB Clinches Governors' Cup Championship Series Berth
    The 2016 SWB RailRiders (Triple-A/ New York Yankees) continued rewriting the club's record book on Friday night at PNC Field as they rolled to an 11-3 win over the Lehigh Valley IronPigs (Philadelphia Phillies). The team became the first in franchise history to sweep a postseason series as they finished off the International League Division Series with a three-game brooming of the IronPigs.

  • Gary Sanchez Named to MLB Pipeline Team of the Year
    A breakout 2016 by Gary Sanchez has netted the catcher another year-end superlative. The staff selected Sanchez to their Team of the Year. He appeared in 71 games for the SWB RailRiders (Triple-A/ New York Yankees) this summer.

  • Coke Spins Gem as RailRiders Roll to Game Two Win
    Phil Coke and the bullpen picked up where Jordan Montgomery and Dietrich Enns left off on Wednesday as the SWB RailRiders (Triple-A/ New York Yankees) romped the Lehigh Valley IronPigs (Philadelphia Phillies) 7-0 in Game Two of the International League Division Series. The RailRiders held the IronPigs scoreless in both games at Coca-Cola Park.

  • Mason Williams, Jordan Montgomery Star in Playoff Win
    Allentown, Pa. - The potent pitching of Jordan Montgomery and Dietrich Enns combined on a four-hit shutout and Mason Williams played both offensive and defensive hero as the SWB RailRiders (Triple-A/New York Yankees) blanked the Lehigh Valley IronPigs (Philadelphia Phillies) in their playoff opener at Coca-Cola Park on Wednesday night, 2-0.

  • SWB Punctuates Historic Campaign with Walk-Off Win
    The 2016 SWB RailRiders (Triple-A/ New York Yankees) penned their name in the history books with 4-3, 10-inning triumph over the Syracuse Chiefs on Monday afternoon at PNC Field. The RailRiders (91-52) won seven straight to close the regular season and tied the franchise record for wins. Their final .636 winning percentage is best in franchise history. The Chiefs finish 61-82.

Subribe in iTunes!